1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

XJ750 bleeding brakes!!

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Scottie1, Jan 18, 2018.

1. Scottie1

Scottie1 Active Member

Well after reading a few posts and seeing what a nightmare it is bleeding the Seca brakes I dove head in. Fitting new SS lines and used a mityvac thing on them. It took me 15 mins to do and low and behold they work. I was thinking it would be such a head ache to do but I guess I got lucky.

Last edited: Jan 18, 2018
  2. cgutz

cgutz Well-Known Member

I am not a mechanic, but with the help of these fine XJ'ers, I am amazed what I have been able to do.

kosel and x1050er like this.
  3. Scottie1

Scottie1 Active Member

They are some wonderful and extremely helpful people here. I belong to a Harley one to but they are not really helpful at all. Always being a bit rude when people ask questions.

Jetfixer, Stumplifter and Plug like this.
  4. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

Cool beans! Re-bleed them after 100 miles or so, just to make sure all of the air is out. Some of it likes to hide in the calipers somtimes.

Stumplifter likes this.
  5. Scottie1

Scottie1 Active Member

Will do thank you

6. Pizzaman

Pizzaman Member

I used the syringe method where you fill from the bleed valve. Worked great when I replaced my brake lines

7. k-moe

Well, you do have the least complex of the XJ brake systems. :)
    Single caliper, no anti-dive, easy-access master cylinder...

8. cgutz

cgutz Well-Known Member

I did the same thing, but found I should have "covered" the brake fluid reservoir. I ended up squirting brake fluid on the driveway and bike. Needless to say I washed the bike in a real hurry to save the paint.

9. PJC750

PJC750 Member