1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

I just got a XJ750, my first ever project... now what?

Discussion in 'Hangout Lounge' started by Aaron B, Aug 11, 2017.

1. Aaron B

Aaron B New Member

So.... where do I even start?

Newbie here. Today I bartered with a guy on Craigslist and basically got an 82 Seca 750 for a handshake and a hardy pat on the back. He is an auto tech that got the bike as partial payment for a job someone could not fully afford, and had no interest in keeping it as he already had a pickup and two sleds in various stages of "project".

It's rough. The last plate tags are from 1988. The battery is dead, the seat is all but disintegrated, and he says the carb needs to be torn down and cleaned out. He did test compression and that looked good. And I am considering a complete teardown, but I am a newbie - never owned/worked on a bike before. I would love some suggestions!

2. steber

steber Active Member