1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

My XJ550 Maxim Project

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by The*newguy, Oct 9, 2017.

1. The*newguy

The*newguy Member

So I acquired a 1982 xj550 that needed some work from a friend of mine. After several months of research reading different forums and waiting to have some time I am finally starting to work on the bike. As the name suggests I'm new at this and this is the first bike I have owned, but I am looking forward to getting it fixed and riding. Any technical advice or suggestions will be most helpful. As I go through this project I will be posting updates and hopefully someone will find this to be helpful.

2. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

3. MattiThundrrr

MattiThundrrr Not a guru

^That should keep you busy until spring...

4. XJ550H

5. The*newguy

The*newguy Member

So this is the condition the bike was in when I got it to my garage. Besides what you see I had the speedometer and a different ignition switch that has a key (original did not have one)
    IMG_20170623_222408353.jpg

So first thing first I took stock of what I had and made up a basic list of things that I needed such as maybe an air box if I could find one in decent shape. and the things needed to run the bike like electrical switches and new lights. And the biggest thing... A gas tank.

So after ordering some of the parts and finding a gas tank, I finally got some time to work on it. I got the gas tank on there and figured I would see how it looked.
    IMG_20170930_211601671.jpg

So gas tank looks good just need to get it open due to not having a key. Still deciding what to do on that one.