1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Need some advice!

Discussion in 'Hangout Lounge' started by MD_just, Dec 5, 2017.

1. MD_just

MD_just New Member

Hello all!

Happy to find the group. I picked up an 82 XJ 750 this summer, and need a bit of "motivation" (or.. just advice) about what to do with it. It's my first bike, and I'm by no means an expert mechanic (not completely clueless, though). Major modifications were done by previous owners and the usual "wear and tear" is evident, but the bike runs is is a blast to ride. I've attached some photos to the post, as well.

I'm really looking for a starting point - If I want to restore the bike, what are some good first steps?

Any comments help... thank you!

upload_2017-12-5_22-54-34.png
    upload_2017-12-5_22-55-5.png

2. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

Start by reading the links in my signature.
    While you're doing homework, look on Ebay for an airbox so she can breathe correctly again.

The brake lines look to be original. Park her until that's been corrected. They were supposed to be replaced 30 years ago (they have a 4 year service life).

Jetfixer and Stumplifter like this.
  3. Stumplifter

Stumplifter Well-Known Member

Advice:
    Don't slouch, look people in the eye when you speak to them and give respect before you can expect to receive any.

Do what Kmoe said.... read - read all of that. It may not all make sense but going through it will shed light on what path you are heading down.

Take a MSF course!

Come back and ask questions.

hogfiddles and Jetfixer like this.
  4. MattiThundrrr

MattiThundrrr Not a guru

In addition to the air box, I would suggest a proper exhaust system, as I assume you plan on riding around people. Neighbors are fond of mufflers.

Stumplifter, k-moe and Jetfixer like this.
  5. Timbox

Timbox Well-Known Member