1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Why more than 2 valves

Discussion in 'Hangout Lounge' started by tabaka45, Dec 1, 2017.

1. tabaka45

tabaka45 Well-Known Member

My Honda VT750 Shadow has three valves per cylinder. I think the XJ700X has five per cylinder. I just saw that the Honda VFR800 has only two per cylinder, and it's a pretty hot bike. My XJ 700 N has two per cylinder. So, will one of you engineering gurus explain why multiple valves are better than just two large ones? I'm a psychology major, so give me a break and make it simple. :)

2. Chitwood

Chitwood Well-Known Member

I'm gonna take a stab and say it has to do with the efficiency of filling the cylinder with the atomized air fuel charge. I'm far from an engineer but that's my guess

3. cgutz

cgutz Well-Known Member

Because they charge by the valve to adjust?

Sorry....

Stumplifter and Chitwood like this.
  4. tabaka45

tabaka45 Well-Known Member

I've done a little research since I posed the question. Two smaller valves allow a greater volume of air/fuel/exhaust than one larger valve. Since the valves have to fit in the cylinder, the two smaller valves actually provide a great surface area than the larger valve in the same cylinder. In order for the larger valve to give the same volume of air/fuel, exhaust it would have to open more which then brings up issues with piston contact and a higher valve weight which effects the cams, etc. So basically, multiple valves provide more volume, are lighter and apparently are easier on the cam.

5. Chitwood

Chitwood Well-Known Member

Makes sense to me.

6. jayrodoh

jayrodoh YimYam Premium Member

Ribo likes this.
  7. MattiThundrrr

MattiThundrrr Not a guru

Sigh. Sad signature. Good video, though.

jayrodoh likes this.
  8. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member