1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

xj 750 oil cooler options

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by pl240sx, Mar 7, 2018.

1. pl240sx

pl240sx New Member

hello, I'm fairly new to modifying motorcycles but have been working on cars for the last 13 years. I have a 1982 xj750 maxim that i just recently did and r6 front end swap on and i'm pretty happy with how the bike is coming along.
    I just had a couple questions about oil coolers. I know I can get one from the following models 1984-85 FJ600, 1986-88 FZ600, 1986-90 YX600 Radian, all XJ650, all XJ700, all XJ750, and all XJ900 models, but I cannot locate one. is it possible to use a oil filter sandwich plate from a car? what thread pitch would I need? I have a welder and i am able to make any mounting brackets and get lines and a cooler easily. I just need to find a plate that will mount up to the block. I was thinking something like this would work. I would be happy with the part number to a spin on filter and I could go from there too. Thanks. oil cooler plate.jpg

2. Simmy

Simmy Well-Known Member

I have an entire FZ600 assembly hanging on the wall. $50 if you're interested just send me a PM.

3. MattiThundrrr

MattiThundrrr Not a guru

I believe that xj4ever carries one specifically designed for xjs. There is a link to their catalog in the top right corner of every page here. It is listed in the "Engine" section, about half way down the page.

"SPIN-ON OIL FILTER CONVERSION KIT: