1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

1982 xj650 complete engine rebuild and bobber conversion

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by Eurotas, Apr 24, 2016.

1. Eurotas

Eurotas Member

Hey guys, I'm new to the thread here, and I have just acquired my first XJ bike. This will be my first bike to modify. What I'm looking for is some help so that I don't mess anything up. Engine ran ok, but doesn't anymore. Pulled the valve cover off, and found intake cam gear missing. I'm guessing the previous owner didn't know what he was doing, and now I have a dead engine.

So now I have broken cam gear pieces at the bottom of the engine. Surprisingly there's no damage to the head. Just a few scratches from when the cam gear snapped. I realize that this requires a complete engine tear down, in order to get them out. Another thing that I've read is that the shifter fork can become bent/damaged, resulting in second gear not working and so on. What sort of things should I be doing to rectify that situation so that its doesn't happen to me when I have the cases split?

I'm looking for some "how-to's", or advice on what i should be replacing in the engine since it'll all be completely apart. I figure since it's all apart, might as well put everything new in there. Money isn't really a factor. So whatever this bike needs, I'll buy it.

The next thing I'd like to know is where you guys find your parts from? Obviously Ebay, but are there any other companies out there that specialize in parts specifically for this bike that can't be found elsewhere?

I'm thinking that since it'll all be apart, I might as well change all the bearings, starter clutch, clutch plates, etc. So I'm going to need some help sourcing out information and parts for that. I'll be buying the clymer manual here shortly. Is there any special tools that I need? If so, where do I get them?