1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Anyone here live in the San Francisco/bay area?

Discussion in 'Western US and Canada' started by Seca550_SF, Jun 1, 2006.

1. Seca550_SF

Seca550_SF New Member

I live up on market in SF. I am new to bikes in general but I just got my XJ550 about 4 weeks ago from craigslist. She ran okay when I first to it but then I did something dumb and left petcock on prime for a while. So I am currently troubleshooting and have narrowed it down to a possible stuck float valves. Anyway, was wondering if any xj owners on this board live in sf. I've seen some xj's on the streets and perhaps some of you also lurk this board.

2. Robert

Robert Active Member

Looks like you scared them off Seca550. I'm afraid your all alone up there. Smokamoto is out in Sac if you get lonely. 2 hours from you and a heck of a lot more trees!

3. Lohnair

Lohnair Member

I'm in the San Jose area. Unfortunately I haven't learned anything yet about carbs and such, but at least I know I'm not completely alone in the Bay Area.

Lohnair

4. amidroc

amidroc New Member

I live up in Sacramento. If you think you may have a stuck float. Setting the petcock to res and drian out the float bowls by loosening the screws at the base of each bowl. Not sure if it will work but you may have too much fuel in there for the spark plug to ignite. that may sound silly but if the spark plug it too wet i dont think it will fire.

good luck

5. ArizonaSteve

ArizonaSteve Member

I drove all the way from Phoenix to Sacramento to pickup my XS1100.

6. Robert

Robert Active Member

Thats dedication! Quite a trip, and at today's gas prices, you must have wanted that particular bike rather badly!

7. thealanberman

thealanberman New Member