1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Clutch slipping at higher RPM?

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by maximjim, Jan 8, 2006.

1. maximjim

maximjim New Member

Relatively new rider unsure if what I am experiencing is the clutch in my 82 Maxim slipping when accelerating.

When accelerating harder than "normal" and running the RPM up around 5 - 6K, I feel a hestitation or skipping and can hear the engine RPM increase without speed increase. Normal acceleration where I keep the RPM under 4K and don't wind it out seems ok, but I am not experienced with many bikes and don't have alot of ride time.

My question is, could the clutch be going? Is what I described typical of the clutch starting to go, or some other problem instead? I will be taking this to the local Yamaha dealer for a look-see, but don't have another good local mechanic or rider to get a second opinion.

Thanks!!

2. chevy45412001

chevy45412001 Member

without know which bike you drive i would say time for clutches. Reason i say that on the 1100 maxim there is an adjustment under a little side cover to get a lil more adjustment out of it before actualy changing the clutch plates.

3. maximjim

maximjim New Member

It is a XJ650J (82 Maxim). Thanks for the reply.

4. jdrich48

jdrich48 Member

Jim, I don't have any info on your clutch, but that sure is a nice looking ride. I just bought one like it a couple months ago. I sure hope when I get done with my cleaning and painting, it looks half as good as yours.
    Was the engine that clean when you bought it? If not I need some tips from you on detailing the engine.
    I just painted my tank a couple weeks ago, it turned out pretty well. You can see it at, http://www.slygrin.net/xjpics/html/rblankenship_2.html

Good luck with your clutch.

5. capy

capy Member