1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Heet - how much to use?

Discussion in 'Hangout Lounge' started by VeggieLaine, Apr 20, 2012.

1. VeggieLaine

VeggieLaine Member

Two questions here...

I recently tipped/dropped by bike (I'm a newbie - don't be hard on me) and gas was coming out the filler cap. I read this is normal. My question is... if gas comes out so easily, does that mean water can get in as easily?

We recently washed my bike and I am having some stalling issues now. I'm wondering if some water may have got in with my gas....

Second question: I got some Heet water remover. How much should I use? The bottle says to use a full bottle with 20 gallons of gas. Should I follow those guidelines and fraction down to approx 1/6 of the bottle, or is there a different amount you would recommend that varies from what the bottle says?

Thanks!

2. TIMEtoRIDE

TIMEtoRIDE Active Member

If you really think there is water in your tank, you should siphon the corners first, collecting the gas in a clear container, like a 2 liter Pepsi bottle.

Get 1/4 inch hose and zip-tie a bolt near the end to weigh it down - - watch the "sender" float.

You will want to "burn the tank" after adding HEET, then top-up before going home, to reduce the ill effects of METHANOL in 30 year old carbs.

Fresh gas contains ETHANOL at 5.9% minimum, federally mandated, which is supposed to absorb water, however, I believe it is already pretty much saturated by the time we buy it.

I've even added a measured amount of water to fresh gas ( yes, I get that bored) and found it pulls the alcohol out of the gas, rather than being absorbed into the gas.

The resulting water then burns, proving it's above 80 proof.

3. fakeplay

fakeplay Member

I'll drink to that !

4. VeggieLaine

VeggieLaine Member

I think I understand the siphoning.

What does burn the tank mean? :?