1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

I thought I was an ok mechanic untill.....

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Tiny, May 29, 2009.

1. Tiny

Tiny Member

I cant get the damn thing to spark. Picks show bounce on the volt meter when the engine cranks over, coils ohm out fine and i have a couple new used tci boxes. WHAT NOW?!?!?!?!?! I'm about ready to sell the damn thing as I've put about a grand into buying and trying to get the thing running and I haven't had so much as a backfire out of it. What now. I already replaced the fuse box and checked my conections a couple dozen times. The coils have tweleve volts running to them I just don't have so much as a hint of spark. I'm beyond desperate and ready to put it on craigslist. Please help me out here

2. protomillenium

protomillenium Member

Tiny, you forgot to tell us what bike you're talking about, and I did not see you list 12 volts at the coil plugs. Give us more info.
    Bill

3. Tiny

Tiny Member

Sorry bill. It's a 1980 xj 650 maxim.

4. mcrwt644

mcrwt644 Member

side stand relay. Disconnect it and see if you have spark. It is a light green/lime green connection in the headlight bucket. Make sure that the side stand switch is functioning correctly. I'm betting it is the relay. My buddy had the EXACT same problem on an 81 xj 650

5. sgknies

sgknies Member

Tiny, put a hold on the craigslist thing. The gurus here are WELL compitent enough to diagnose your issues. Just hang in there and see what they say. I have this exact bike...year and all and it runs like a top.

6. sgknies

sgknies Member

mc I don't think the 80 model has the relay on it. I could be wrong, but my bike doesn't have it and it's an 80 model

7. SLKid

SLKid Active Member

Second that Side Stand relay. Got me twice bashing my head against a wall. "WHY WONT IT WORK" Is all I could say for an hour.