1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Maxim XJ550 Cafe Racer Help

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by EvenStephens, Dec 16, 2015.

1. EvenStephens

EvenStephens New Member

Hey everyone! I'm new to riding and as a Christmas present my father-in-law bought me a 81 Maxim. It had some work that needed done but I was thrilled none the less. At first I was thinking bobber but now I'm thinking Cafe Racer style since the controls for your feet are like a sports bike. Well I know what I want for the seat and rear but as far as gas tanks go what would you guys recommend? I was thinking a Seca tank but dont know which year and size would fit. Any suggestions on what I should do or any advice?

Attached Files:

2. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

any other tank would require mods than the maxim tank a seca tank may fit but the triple tree may hit it .
    for the seat you will have to make your own pan and build it your self no aftermarket out there.
    I am waiting for a set of keys to show up and will see how my seca tank will swap onto my maxim let you know whau i find out with.
    this mod forum has some examples of seat mods you may be able to use search for it or may have to go through the threads looking

you will most likely have to do something to the read fender too
    well some good news the seca seat fits the profile of the maxim frame.
    because the seca seat is attached with hinges and a lock you would have to add something to hold it on
    if you cut off the lock box frame you will have to reenforce the tail and or you could probaly mount the seca tail in place of the maxim lock box. if your intrested I will get you some photos and measurements. of the frame.
    will also check the tank out tomorrow

you may want to go through the motor first before adding expense to mods

Last edited: Dec 18, 2015