1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

New enthusiast here with many questions

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Shavkat Yaparov, Mar 31, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Shavkat Yaparov

Shavkat Yaparov New Member

Hello Guys, my name is Shavkat. I’m a junior mechanical engineering student, and just got my first bike: 1985 Xj700 MaximX (liquid cooled). I got it for $350 in a relatively good condition and with with titles. I wanted to first say thank you guys for keeping valuable information so well preserved. I find myself constantly browsing through this site, but this is my first post here.
    So, there goes the long list of questions..

1) I just cleaned the carburetor and replaced the washer for one of the jets, because the washer was missing and the jet was floating the the bowl. This lowered my RPMs from 5000 to about 1100 on idle. Between 1-2 and 3-4 carbs, there are 2 hoses coming out. From what I understand, those are overflow hoses? I just took the hoses off, and pointed those little T connectors on the ground. Should be fine?

2) I replaced the coolant in the system, and now observe it leaking once pressure builds up. Plastic Radiator bleeder screw is cracked and also is missing a seal. I’ll 3D print new one, and try to find a matching seal ASAP. Also, on the right side of the bike, a metal pipe runs, that is mounted on one of the water pump screws. Coolant leeks from there too, but not as significant. Has this happened to anyone? Should I take the water pump off and try to replace the seal and tighten the bolt?