1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

New tire question

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by waldreps, Apr 8, 2016.

1. waldreps

waldreps Active Member

This may seem like a stupid question to some but I'm asking it anyway since I've never done this before. I'm getting some new tires for my '82 XJ650 Maxim and don't really want to deal with mounting and balancing them myself. I'm going to remove the wheels and take them to a motorcycle shop for that. I'm just wondering if there's anything I need to know. Such as, I'm assuming that I'll need to remove the brake shoes and cover from the rear wheel so they don't fall out at the shop. Anything else I need to know?

Thanks,
    Stacy

2. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

many shops will not mount tires that they did not sell you (online tires). make sure they match the red dot with the valve stem, less wheel weights.
    if you are going with new valve stems make sure you get them or they have them in stock.
    and mark the rotation on the rim for them.if your doing new wheel bearings put them in first

this is also the time to clean and grease the speedo setup on reinstall

Seized Speedometer Drive Unit

3. waldreps

waldreps Active Member

I've already checked with them and they are fine with mounting tires that I bring. As far as marking the rotation, the original tires will still be on the rims when I bring them in. Is that enough for them or should I also mark the rims? If I should mark them, what's the best way to do that? Thanks.

4. DrewUth

DrewUth Active Member

The original tires should be enough, but I have used a scribe to scratch an arrow in an inconspicuous location in the past.

5. Polock

Polock Well-Known Member

I'be always changed my own tires and never found the valve stem to be the heavy spot on a rim.