1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

New to forum justt purchased my first bike an 81 xj650 midnight maxim going to bob it.

Discussion in 'Hangout Lounge' started by Dillon r., Apr 5, 2016.

1. Dillon r.

Dillon r. New Member

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg Hello everyone my names Dillon from Washington state just picked up a 81 xj650 midnight maxim for an awesome price of 300$ didn't run cleaned carb up good runs now so started the building process you guys have some incredible bikes! Ordered some ape hangers and a new solo seat to start mocking everything up. Advice is greatly taken! I'm a welder so I love fabbing stuff!

2. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

The airbox. Keep it.

Stumplifter likes this.
  3. Stumplifter

Stumplifter Well-Known Member

Welcome Dillon,
    From a safety/ reliability stand point, it is my understanding that the XJ650's front fender is part of the structural support of the front fork assy., see if the seller has it kicking around in his garage.

And put some air in that front tire! :D

4. hogfiddles

hogfiddles XJ-Wizard, Host-Central NY Carb Clinic Moderator Premium Member

It may have been a midnight at some point in time, but there are so few Midnight parts still on your bike. Its only a midnight now because it used to be one. Now, it's just another on of the minions of 650's That have been cut. Too bad it's a midnight that got lost.

5. Dillon r.

Dillon r. New Member

It actually has a lot of the midnight parts that the previous owners painted over still has the gold rims they just spray painted the black the carb still has the "gold" on the caps but other than that you are correct

6. Dillon r.

Dillon r. New Member

I have the front fender thanks for the heads up! And needs a new front tire so working on that thanks

7. hogfiddles