1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Rookie help, smoke from gearbox, rubber boot burning. XJ650G Maxim

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by sloambbr, Dec 11, 2018.

Tags:
  1. sloambbr

sloambbr New Member

I'm pretty new to the motorcycle scene but got myself a 1980 XJ650 Special (japanese import) which I believe is the exact same as the XJ650G Maxim.

Was running great but noticed over the last week a few things
    - Started struggling to idle, needed the choke more and more
    - Slightly more violent lurch shifting into first gear
    - Once there was a solid clunk shifting into first
    - Then on the fateful last drive the bike was struggling to get over 20-30km/hr. When I got to work (my commute is quite short, maybe 2 km), I noticed smoke coming from under the rubber boot in between the gear box and final drive. One of the tabs on the rubber boot was actually burning. So I'm not 100% if the smoke was coming from the burning rubber or something else.
    - Haven't driven it since, or turned it on (3 days ago)

I've got a mechanic who I usually go to (small town we only have one bike mechanic). He's quite busy opening a new shop though and I am trying to learn a bit more so thought I would post here before dropping it in the shop for a month.

I've changed a few things so not sure if my own tinkering has caused any problems..
    - Put an original exhaust system on. The guy I bought it from had put straight pipes on it that weren't really sealed well at the elbow from the headers so exhaust was escaping there as well. Found out via the header wraps he had installed literally burning off..
    - I have not balanced the carbs since changing the exhaust as my mechanic said I might need to. Bike seemed to be running fine for the month after changing the exhaust. Also I don't know how.