1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Tail Light Aftermarket Wiring Help

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by Michael R, Dec 30, 2017.

1. Michael R

Michael R Member

I'm an electrical noob. I am modifying my tail cowl to take an aftermarket tail light on the 550 Seca and would appreciate any direction on how to wire it up. It is a standard bulb - not LED. I want to go from this:

[​IMG]

to this:

[​IMG]

2. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

tail light is also the brake lights and plate light. is your new set up a dual filiment light using case as ground?

existing wires
    L=blue running light
    Y=yellow is brakes
    B= black Ground
    seca550.JPG

I would order the white connector from chacal and have him crimp connectors to wire of the proper color or rent the tool so you can use the existing harness connector .
    and wire it to your new setup.

you can just cut the wires at the socket you will only need 1 set of the wires from original sockets and butt crimp the wires to your new light. your new light looks like it is just a single filiment bulb.
    post a link to it if you can

with a single bulb you will diminish your visiability

3. Michael R

Michael R Member

https://www.dimecitycycles.com/chrome-cat-eye-motorcycle-tail-light.html

Doesn’t really say much. I’m not too concerned about viz, as I don’t ride at night and most of my biking has been on old Brit bikes with Lucas lighting

4. jayrodoh

jayrodoh YimYam Premium Member

Is yours the two or three wire version? Looks like two from the pic. Would be red from light to yellow and black from light to blue. Make sure light mounting bolts are grounded either from mount or with black wire from factory harness.