1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

VERY WEIRD start up problem

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by cbcanada, Jun 23, 2012.

1. cbcanada

cbcanada Member

first let me say i am a newbie in wrenching bikes. having said that here is my story

1981 xj750

bike was running, and i decided to clean the carbs

i sprayed seafoam diect into fuel line until bike would run no more

i put fresh tank of gas and tried to start wouldnt start. looked at plugs they were soaked with seafoam and fouled

i changed the plugs from bp7es to bpr7es (ic ouldnt find bp7es) and i snipped 1/8" off the plug wires because the contacts were bad and rescrewed them and confirmed spark in all 4 plugs

i went to start the bike and noticed gas pissing out from my air box over flow hose.

took the carbs back out and saw that i set the floats upside down, so i turned them over, put the carbs back on.. no more gas pissing from air box hose, i was happy !

try and start the bike, nothing,,, i pull the plugs and all are dry and look brand new, there is no gas getting to the cylinder? there is no sign of combustion

unfortunately i cannot use the drain screw to see if there is gas in the bowls because they are stripped. i did pull the gas line off the petcock and confirmed gas comes out at prime setting.

so what do you think has happened here guys? i dont mind pulling th carbs again but before i do this i would like to know what could have gone wrong here so i know what to look for.

2. MercuryMan

MercuryMan Active Member

You did change the gas contaminated oil right?

When you cleaned the carbs did you do more than spray seafoam? Did you check all your passages and jets to make sure they were free and clean? Clunk test the diaphragms?