1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Xj550 maxim fork spring upgrade

Discussion in 'XJ DIY How-To Instructions' started by Braxton, May 12, 2021.

1. Braxton

Braxton New Member

Well, my fork seals started leaking, so I decided to get the performance rebuild kit from chacal. I figured I'd be in it anyways, I might as well start the cafe racer transformation I've been dreaming of.

I apologize if this is in the wrong spot or formatted incorrectly, this is my first time posting in this forum.

Here is a list of how I replaced the springs and other parts in the forks.

1. Put bike on center stands

2. I used a hydraulic jack to keep the front of the bike suspended. That being said, anything that can keep the front tire reliably off of the ground should work.

3. I removed the front tire. This consists of a castle nut, a pin, a rod, a spacer, brakes, and the speedometer gear housing. (Keep these parts clean or you'll hate yourself. I spent so much time cleaning these parts with a cotton swab because I was working in a dusty barn.) Unfortunately I don't have any photos of this, but just take a picture before it comes apart and you should be fine.

4. I then used a c-clamp along with a long socket to depress the fork caps enough to take out the c clip that holds them in.