1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

XJ900 Starter Clutch Replacement

Discussion in 'For Sale, Trade/Swap, Wanted' started by MrSeca, May 23, 2022.

1. MrSeca

MrSeca Active Member

Well, after trying and hoping and then trying some more I had to face the fact that most likely the springs in my Seca 900 starter clutch are probably worn out and need to be replaced. In a couple weeks I am going to pull the engine and do the dirty. I have only done a top end rebuild as far as engine work so this is definitely new territory. I'm a teacher so no school during the summer and I'll have plenty of time. Yes, I plan on replacing the chain guide as well as all the other pertinent 40 year old gaskets, seals and o-rings I may disturb from it's slumber. I very much look forward to this project.

I know that it's possible that the starter clutch could very well be cracked but if it is indeed just weak springs should I still replace the whole starter clutch assembly or will just replacing the springs be fine?
    Also, since I only plan on splitting the lower halves of the engine will I still be able to replace the chain guide without removing the lower crank?

Last edited: May 23, 2022
    Jetfixer and hogfiddles like this.
  2. Franz

Franz Well-Known Member

I have done this work on my machine but l dismantled the whole engine to fit an endless cam chain so l don't know if the guide can be replaced with the crankshaft in place. You are better to replace the whole starter clutch, as they can crack and that's more time and money to do the work again. @Jetfixer changed the complete unit on his 750 but l am not sure if his old hub was cracked or he did it as a precautionary measure.

It's not difficult just a bit time consuming and more expensive since the clutch is inside the cases.

Jetfixer likes this.
  3. Franz

Franz Well-Known Member