1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Yet Another EFI Conversion on 1980 XJ650

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by Gulrok, Sep 8, 2014.

1. Gulrok

Gulrok Member

Hi everyone!

[​IMG]

Winter is coming... and I will not be riding in it.

Just a little bit about me, I'm an 18 certified NJ EMT (been so for 2 years ) .. who decided to move out to Washington state to pursue a police career after I got out of highschool. I want to be police down in the town of Vancouver ( close to portland ). They're losing over half their force to retirement over the next 5 years. You have to be 21, to apply.

Now about my goal.

I like carburetors a lot less than most XJ people probably do. At least I think I do. I currently live in a small town of 600 about 20 miles from the Washington town of Centralia. We have an elevation of about 900 ft above sea level. While that isn't huge, I ride to Vancouver and seattle, and into Oregon, and all over. My motorcycle isn't insanely reliable either. If I let it sit for a couple days I'll need to use starter fluid to start it up.

This makes me think that it is a fuel problem, and something in the carburetor sticks, and then a tad of starter fluid helps kick it out.

So, instead of messing with that, I kind of wanted a bit more gain in power. Depending on the jets if I am higher or lower in sea level the bike will run richer, or leaner, as everyone might know.

So how do I solve this? Well I've already come up with a solution for me. Convert to EFI.. run more efficient and have fun with the bike. I love to play with this bike.

So as for converting it I understand what I need.

Computer - Microsqirt
    Sensors: Intake Air Temp, Bar map,
    Fuel pump
    Throttle Body
    Trigger Wheel
    Redo Wiring Harness + Add fuses
    Filters of some sort
    Wideband o2 Sensor
    Maybe coil-pack / wire changes.