1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Oil Leak from the Turbo/Exhaust

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Masterx, May 4, 2017.

1. Masterx

Masterx Member

Went to go take my bike out this morning and noticed a puddle of oil beneath my like and a leak between my exhaust and turbo. I know it's not much to go on, but is this a gascket that got blown? Or what exactly? Any thoughts are appreciated.

turbo leak.jpg

For better clarification, I circled the area I photographed.

Thanks! Capture.JPG

2. Masterx

Masterx Member

A much clearer look at the spot. 4707126649157592908-account_id=3.jpg

3. Metalliccurrent

Metalliccurrent Member

I'm not familiar with turbo on this bike but I have 15+ yrs experience with heavy truck turbo diesels. The gasket circled seals exhaust gasses only. I would guess that either the turbo is going bad or engine is pushing oil out exhaust(more likely turbo). Be carful with this issue, I can't count on one hand that amount of times I've seen a turbo fail and take a engine with it or cause a fire. Most if not all turbo's don't have a oil seal like a engine, It's more like a piston ring on the turbo shaft. A normal rubber seal cant take the high RPM and heat/pressure. That being said sometimes a exhaust or intake leak will cause oil to seep around seal ring because of pressure differences. Hope this unfortunate info helps you. Sorry for the bad news.:(

4. Masterx

Masterx Member

This is some major bad news if you're right. I just had the Turbo unit replaced back in February which is even more disappointing.

On another note, I should be fine to disassemble that leaking part by removing those bolts?

5. Stumplifter

Stumplifter Well-Known Member

Pardon the side track - I know nothing about turbos (car, truck, motorcycle).