1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Bike not staring and shifting gears

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Magu, Sep 29, 2015.

1. Magu

Magu New Member

Hi there,

I am new to this XJBikes community but saw that I could get some good info so I thought I should sign up. So let me get to the point..

I recently bought an XJ650 and this week I have changed the handlebars to clubman/Ace ones. I am not that practical but always wanted to try to amend and fix things myself. As far as dismantling and installing the new handlebar everything seemed to work quite smoothly. The problem I am now facing is starting the bike and shifting gears. Sometimes the gears are all shifting correctly and sometimes they don't - feels like they only go up to second or third gear only.

I researched a bit and found that it could be the clutch safety switch. Today I adjusted the clutch cable but still didn't get all the gears shifting correctly and still didn't start - tried both in neutral and in gear pulling the clutch. Can somebody help me out here?

Thanks,
    Mike

2. MN-Maxims

MN-Maxims St. Paul Minnesota

Did everything work right before you switched the handle bars? If so could you have re routed the clutch cable somehow to make it bind up. Also did you lube the clutch cable?

3. Magu

Magu New Member

Thanks for the reply.

Yes everything was working fine before I changed them. I didn't lube the clutch cable but I did adjust it and it feels like it is working ok on both ends. Could this prevent the bike starting?

4. Stumplifter

Stumplifter Well-Known Member

It wasn't just the clutch cable that transitioned to the new handle bars. . . .

Did you set the clutch lever free play to the manual specs?

5. Rooster53

Rooster53 Well-Known Member Premium Member