1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

To Rebuild or Not to Rebuild

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Joshua Olkowski, Aug 2, 2018.

1. Joshua Olkowski

Joshua Olkowski Member

Has anybody out there ever rebuilt an 81 xj550 Seca Engine. I have one that's running...okay, but I also have access to one in a junk yard for 350 bucks. Was thinking of doing a complete Seca teardown and restoration taking the best of both bikes and going to town. However, to really make it worth it I feel I would also have to rebuild the engine otherwise you're just slapping old parts together. I am a novice mechanic and this is my first venture into bikes. The 81 Seca is one of the sexiest bikes I've ever seen and I really want to go for it. Any vids, tutorials, articles would be very helpful. Thanks. Josh

2. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

first consideration is the amount of money you are going to spend. Complete restoration is a costly project.
    what milage do you have on motor? test the compression. all you should have to do is rings and valve job.
    consider that the valve job is usally just a refurbish of the head

ground up rebuild of motor would have you spending money you do not need to.

Franz likes this.
  3. Joshua Olkowski

Joshua Olkowski Member

Thank you for responding. Money is definitely an issue since I want to do it myself. However, I like your idea of just doing a rings and valve job. Are there any tutorials you could direct me to? Thanks.

4. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member

How many miles are on the engines?
    A runner typically won't need to be rebuilt, and there are many things that need to be checked in order to determine if the rebuild is necessary.