1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Slightly altered 83 XJ750 Maxim

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by PavelK313, Jan 29, 2019.

1. PavelK313

PavelK313 Active Member

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting anything about my bike on this forum and first time documenting build progress , so take it easy on me. I been wanting to build an older bike for 10+ years, however time and finances just weren't there.

On November 12th 2018 I came across my 83 XJ750 Maxim for $175! Needless to say at that price point bike didn't start, but as the saying goes baggers can't be choosers so i ended up picking it up. After tinkering in the garage with it for 30 minutes, I started the bike and took it for a ride.Everything worked as it should and I was extremely happy with my purchase. Initial plan was to make slight modifications to the bike and keep the budget low. However, the more I thought about it, the more I realized that i won't be ok with corner cutting and settling for less than what i really wanted.

This led me to be looking for a modern sport bike front end and putting ideas in my head as to what i want it to look at the end. I found 2006 R1 with blown engine and decided that it would be a perfect donor bike for my project. At this point My XJ has R1 front end, rear monoshock conversion, 82 XJ550RJ tank. I still have a long ways to go but considering the time frame I am working with so far I couldn't be any happier than i currently am with the progress that was made so far.

Ill attach few pictures (and try to keep them in order) for you to view.

Attached Files:

Franz and XJ750DB like this.
  2. Polock

Polock Well-Known Member

3. PavelK313

PavelK313 Active Member

4. 50gary

50gary Active Member