1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

New project

Discussion in 'Other Motorcycles' started by Plumper, Jun 29, 2019.

1. Plumper

Plumper Member

IMG_8044.JPG IMG_8031.JPG I've had so much fun learning and fixing up my xj750 that I got a new project, my buddy was just gonna get rid of it so he said take it, the last year it was operating was 2014 so not that long ago, he had it running last year but running crappy, im still new to this game but I don't think it will take much to get it going, a good cleaning of everything, battery, tires, brakes, paint job be good to go for next year, already starting taking the old ugly stuff off, looks a 1000 times better already, hope there's some goldwing experts here cause I'm gonna have aloooot a questions, o ya she's a 82 gl 1100

2. Franz

Franz Well-Known Member

Just check the timing belts with it being an old bike I am sure this Honda has them. A friend had a Honda CB 900f decades ago an it's timing chain snapped and wrecked the valves. He exchanged it for an older Goldwing which gave him no trouble and eventually bought another CB900f, something I would not have done. There was one CB 900f with a Z1 motor fitted in it I saw in the motorcycle press which was called a Honzaki Z900. Well I don't know when Honda stipulate changing the timing belt but preventative maintenance is better than damaged valves and pistons. Worth checking this out I think.

Last edited: Jun 29, 2019
  3. Timbox

Timbox Well-Known Member

Nice grab, I too have thought about changing a Wing over to a stripped down standard. I as going to remove the four carbs and put in a single carb. There are lots of vids on how to do this and it really helps these bikes out. That is a really nice seat, and if you don't want it for the project you should be able to get some good $$ for it. Best of luck and I will be following this build.