1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

STARTER RELAY OR BUTTON ISSUE?

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Sam S, Nov 7, 2021.

1. Dan Gardner

Dan Gardner Well-Known Member Premium Member

Yes, unfortunately my bikes are resting comfortably for the next few months.

One of the recurring themes with these bikes is the age of the brake lines. If you have squishy brake lever that might be part of the problem. I don't have that much experience personally - my winter to-do list includes rebuilding MC and caliper for my XJ650J, then replace brake lines when I put it together in the spring. It will be interesting to me to see how much different the brake feel is once everything is re-done.

Sam S likes this.
  2. Dan Gardner

Another disclaimer - I'm no expert. But I would think if you had that much vacuum leakage on the intake side that you would have a hell of a time with carb adjustments and idle creep.

Sam S likes this.
  3. Sam S

Sam S New Member

Good point on old brake lines. I'll see when I bleed them.
    I do get idle creep - at least it creeps to zero rpm if I don't hang onto throttle a bit when stopped. Also can't choke it more than half way cause it doesn't do anything the second half. Makes it a bear to start in cold weather.

4. Jeff Witt

Jeff Witt New Member