1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Seized exhaust stud

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by AWHH, Jan 12, 2022.

1. AWHH

AWHH New Member

hello everyone

I’m new to this and have a question about exhaust stud bold extraction. I was removing the exhaust and managed to break off the nut and bolt. Luckily it broke off with plenty of stud remaining. I tried getting it off with vice grips and penetrating spray but this things not budging.
    My plan is to slot the end of the bolt with a dremmel and use a flat head to back it out.

is there anything else I can spray on it to help it move? My fear is that it will shear off and I’ll be hooped.

thoughts?

2. Dan Gardner

Dan Gardner Well-Known Member Premium Member

3. Franz

Franz Well-Known Member

You could use a MAP gas torch to heat the area where the broken stud enters the head. I used that on my engine to remove the stud on the cylinders that located in the front of the crankcase.

4. tabaka45

tabaka45 Well-Known Member

I doubt that a flathead screwdriver will work if vice-grips don’t. I would try the heat treatment Franz suggested first. If you have never tried heat you might want to enlist the help of someone who has.

5. RonniN

RonniN Member

The best thing with broken studs is to weld a nut to it, and then unscrew, the heat from the welder will most of the time loosen up the seized stud. :)

6. JBurch

JBurch Active Member