1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

81 XJ550 Seca starting trouble

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Random, Jul 31, 2018.

1. Random

Random New Member

hey everyone,

So a little back story for me, I’m new to Japanese bikes and have limited knowledge. I’ve rebuilt and customized several Harley’s but this is my first serious dive into these bikes.

I’ve been working on an 81 XJ550 Seca for a few weeks now and can’t figure out the problem as to why it won’t start. It sat for a year before I bought it. Drained the tank, cleaned the carbs, replaced the dry rotted carb boots, new air filter and switched to blade style fuses but I’m not getting anything.

It’s making a god awful noise whenever I try to start it (see YouTube link). Whenever I take the air cleaner off and spray a quick little spurt of starter fluid into the carbs it’ll start up and run about 4000rpm then lower to 3000. Throttle responds great even though it’s idling too high but after a minute or so it sputters out and dies. I’ve cleaned the every living crap out of the carbs so I don’t know how it isn’t getting fuel. Would a stage 1 help this? Obviously it would need some tuning after the fact if that was the case.

Also PO had the mixture screws backed out about 4 1/2 turns which I changed to about 3 per the clymer manual.

Any help would be insanely appreciated because I’m at a loss on this one. Here’s the link to the terrible sound the bike makes when I try getting it going.

2. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

is 3k rpm with choke lever on?
    you may need to use it if you are not using it.
    how did you clean carbs?

3. Random

Random New Member

With choke pulled out it’s revving around 5000 so when I push it back it’ll idle around 4000 then slow down after a little bit longer.