1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

How do I set the float height?

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by NACHOMAN, Apr 1, 2006.

1. NACHOMAN

NACHOMAN Member

I'm about to reassemble my carb bank, and It's been a long time coming....
    I am down to setting the float heights, and putting it all together.
    Basically, I've never worked on Hitachi carbs before but they are very similar to the Mikunis I am familiar with.
    I usually set the floats so the rest level with the carbs upside down, by bending the tab that actuates the needle.
    Is this the correct proceedure on these carbs?
    I've heard a few references to 3mm as a spec on this, but the only way I've ever seen a height like that used is when measuring from the gasket surface to the float.
    There is no way to get 3mm that way.
    If anyone knows the correct proceedure, I would be very greatful.

Nachoman

2. BlueMaxim

BlueMaxim Active Member

Don't have the specs for setting the carbs by float to carb distance. I set mine to the actual fuel level. On the carb bowls there is a nipple at the back. A section of clear tubing can be placed over this and the bowl drain screw opened allowing the fuel to fill until the float valve closes. Hold the tubing against the carb body and measure where the fuel level is in relation to the carb body. Here is a link witha pic that shows the correct level.
    http://www.treasureboards.com/cgi-bin/x ... pl/read/29

Bending the float tang is the correct method to change the level. This method of course is doen with the carbs level and upright with an auxillary source of fuel for filling the carbs.

3. Nick

Nick Member

I adjusted my float levels by making a jig to hold my carbs and supplied fuel via a salvaged fuel tank from a weed wacker.