1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Knocking noise

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Jvig1014, Feb 17, 2019.

1. Jvig1014

Jvig1014 New Member

I have never worked on a motorcycle before but wanted to give it a go, so I got an 81 XJ550 SECA back in August for $500. It was complete but not running. I did the following:

1. I Cleaned the carbs with a rebuild kit
    2. Got them sync'd
    3. I chased down some electrical Gremlins
    4. I did an oil change and filter
    5. I adjusted clutch and brakes
    6. I gave it a new solenoid / battery / spark plugs
    7. It has new tires / all new lights / bars / grips
    8. Replaced valve cover gasket

The rest had been cosmetic. I turned it into a cafe style bike. I have been able to start it and test ride it through the neighborhood. It runs good and shifts through all the gears nicely and tracks good and straight.

I was having an issue with it not idling and not wanting to start. I did some research on the forum and it turned out to be a gunked up circuit enrichment well and tube...removed the carbs and got that taken care of. Put them back on the bike and it started great and the choke worked as it should.

Took for another test ride and after warming it up, I "goosed it" a little in 2nd gear....next thing I know there was terribly loud ticking / knocking coming from the upper left side of motor. The bike would not hold idle and died. It started right back up but still made the noise. I made it home but it would die as soon as i let off throttle. The following video is the noise it is making. The other is how it sounded before I broke it.

What are y'alls thoughts?

Thanks

Last edited: Feb 17, 2019
  2. Jvig1014

Jvig1014 New Member

I see the video of it making noise did not make it so here it is

Thanks again

3. k-moe

k-moe Pie, Bacon, Bourbon. Moderator Premium Member