1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Maxim 750 wont start suddenly

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by YerpDerp, Aug 23, 2017.

1. YerpDerp

YerpDerp New Member

To start off, i'm new to motorcycles. I like them a lot, but i only know minimal repair knowledge. like, replacing spark plugs and stuff. I just bought a used Yamaha Maxim xj750 and it was running very nice. When i bought the bike about two months ago almost, it had a dirty carburetor, and and front piece with blinkers, a headlight, and a radio. I took the front piece off and put a headlight from ebay on there, no front blinkers, and i also replaced the megaphone muffler with a waaaay quieter muffler which seemed to add good back pressure to make it run smoother. that or it was my imagination, again, im new to this.

The guy i bought it from swore up and down that he had done a full oil change with 10w40 motorcycle oil. Stupidly enough, i believed him. I was riding the motorcycle and had switched into third gear and began to accelerate. then it started making a louder high pitched noise while coming to a squealing halt. I held in the clutch and then it started to roll to a stop and then it shut off. Won't start now. I checked oil, put more oil in because it was incredibly low, check the spark plugs which all worked seemingly fine. I did have to replace one fuse to make the odometer and speedometer work. When i try to start the motorcycle it makes a fast high pitched noise like it almost wants to start but wont. If i try to much, i have to recharge the battery. I dont know whats wrong and i was hoping to maybe find a solution i could do myself without spending a fortune to fix the bike.

2. XJ550H

XJ550H Well-Known Member Premium Member

what year is it