1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

NEED HELP FROM EXPERIENCED XJ650 USERS PLEASE!!!

Discussion in 'XJ Modifications' started by Mikey Roy, May 5, 2017.

1. Mikey Roy

Mikey Roy New Member

Hello Fellow Riders,

I just picked up a 1981 Yamaha XJ650, the owner already did the Bobber conversion on it and it looks pretty good. Some surface rust around the cut frame end but nothing too big. I have a dream for this bike but the more i research the more i find that there is not a lot we can do to these bikes due to it being shaft driven and has a triple back bone so switching tanks for a custom one is impossible. So i am new to building bikes so if you guys could answer a few questions, that would be great.

1.) i want to put chrome spoke rims on there, but trying to find shaft driven rear spoke rims is hard? What rims could i use to accomplish this goal?

2.) What tanks am i able to put on this bike?

3.) how hard is it to wire on new gauges ( tach meter, etc )?

4.) what rear fenders can i use on this bike with a cut frame in the back?

5.) whats the best websites for parts for our bikes?

6.) Air pods, i've heard mixed reviews about them on our bikes, should i keep it stock or put on the air pods? if i did, what mods would i have to do to make it run great?

Thank you so much, attached are some pictures of the bike when i got it, hope you enjoy it

Attached Files:

2. hogfiddles

hogfiddles XJ-Wizard, Host-Central NY Carb Clinic Moderator Premium Member

Spoke rims- a very limited number of larger viragos came with spoke rims, but be prepared to pay crazy amounts for them, as several of us are already watching closely for them, and they're pricey to begin with.......