1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Pilot jet

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Karl Morgan, Dec 19, 2022.

1. Karl Morgan

Karl Morgan New Member

Hi,

I have an xj650 maxim, 1981, US model imported to the UK.

I bought the bike seized, and whilst waiting for rebore I have stripped and cleaned the carbs.

Let me say I am a self taught home tinkerer, not a professional mechanic, but have kept a variety of machines large and small going over the years.

Over the years there have been a few bodges to this bike, and I don't trust any previous work, there is evidence that the carbs have been apart before.

I bought a rebuild kit for the carbs, which obviously fits more than one type of carb, as there are far more bits than needed ( jets 2x112, 2x122, 2x43, 2x40, pilot jet, quite a few o-rings etc).

So, here's the question, in the manual the pilot jet is "rocket " shaped, in my carbs it was the same shape as all the other jets, like a grub screw with a hole through it.

I tried the new rocket shaped pilot screw in the pilot hole, and it doesn't go in far enough to engage the screw thread.

I have replaced it, like before, with a standard jet, did some carbs have grub screw type pilot jets, or am I missing something?

I measured the old jets as they are not marked, and have used 112 main, and 43 pilot.

I obviously have no idea how this bike was running before, but not using the rocket shaped pilot jet is bugging me.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

2. tabaka45

tabaka45 Well-Known Member

If it isn't like the one you took out don't use it. The last think you want lto do is screw up the threads in the pilot system. Contact Chacal for the right kits.

3. Karl Morgan

Karl Morgan New Member

Thanks tabaka,

I agree, and have used like for like jets, just intrigued as to why the diagram shows a different type of jet.