1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

Possibly not firing on one cylinder

Discussion in 'XJ Technical Chat' started by Josh85, Jan 26, 2019.

1. Josh85

Josh85 New Member

Hi guys,

I have an 81 XJ650 that I’ve been tinkering with for a few months now with varying degrees of success.

Firstly, Its been modded with pod filters (previous owner, let’s not start on this one) it also has a dirt bike exhaust welded on and some new electrical components.

It was idling very rough and hanging on higher revs at stop, then on a ride it only barely made it home limping (didn’t want to start and barely ran)
    When I pulled the plugs they were all very black
    so I have:

- Rebuilt carbs (everything apart from idle enrichment circuit) including slide diaphragms and intake boots and took jets back to stock (they were 45, 128)
    - new spark plugs
    - lubed the throttle cable

Took it for a quick run and it got significantly worse once it was hot.
    Now when I start it backfires a lot and shoots bluish flames out the exhaust along with running shit unless on about half choke (looks great but doesn’t run great)
    When I rechecked the plugs, they all look a nice grayish colour now except one which doesn’t look like it’s firing at all (checked and it still has spark and looks wet from fuel)
    Also, the exhaust coming from that cylinder is much cooler than the rest

Can someone please guide me to the next logical step?
    Should I be checking the coils? Valve clearances? ‍

Ps If there’s any members around the Gold Coast area with some spare time and know how, I’d be very keen to get some help with this one

2. Jetfixer

Jetfixer Well-Known Member