1. Hello Guest. You have limited privileges and you can't "SEARCH" the forums. Please "Log In" or "Sign Up" for additional functionality. Click HERE to proceed.

1985(86) XJ700 Caliper Rebuild

Discussion in 'XJ DIY How-To Instructions' started by Nuch, Jan 30, 2018.

1. Nuch

Nuch Well-Known Member

Initially, I thought I’d get through the process and I’d post my entire rebuild from beginning to end. Then I thought it’s better that I post in stages and consider the thoughts of the good folks here as I go… Especially since I have never done this before and honestly don’t know what I’m doing! Today is the teardown and clean up of my newly acquired eBay XJ700 front calipers. I was going to just rebuild the ones I have on the bike now, but then I can’t ride while this gets done.

Here we have our suspects. Relatively clean on the outside… they came packed nicely, though they were rolling around in their own fluids… Both for 12 bucks (plus shipping)! How can you beat that?

01_front_brakes_xj700.jpg 02_front_brakes_xj700.jpg

After pulling the pins and pads I used compressed air to get things moving… The 700 has a two piston caliper, so the air will inevitably push one and not the other. When the two pistons come together, you’re done.
    03_front_brakes_xj700.jpg

Grab a 14mm wrench and remove the two bolts holding the two halves of the caliper together.
    04_front_brakes_xj700.jpg

2. Nuch

Nuch Well-Known Member

When you take the two halves apart, the piston that did most of the moving should come out pretty easy… Mine took nearly no effort…
    05_front_brakes_xj700.jpg